Graduation Week Celebrates the Class of 2019
Liz Torrey

St. Andrew's held its 86th annual Commencement ceremony on Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend, capping off a week of festivities that honored and celebrated the 81 members of the Class of 2019.

This year's Commencement keynote was delivered by Associate Head of School Will Speers, who is retiring from at the end of this school year, after 40 years of teaching, living, leading, and serving at St. Andrew's. In his talk, which you can read in full on our website, Mr. Speers shared some of the ways in which he, too, is graduating from SAS this spring, and how he hopes both he and the Class of 2019 will "dedicate our education, artistry and souls to the lives, questions and service of others. Then your St. Andrew’s diploma gains relevance, purpose, muscle."

Student body Co-Presidents Carson McCoy ’19 and Noor El-Baradie ’19 also made Commencement remarks, which you can listen to on our Livestream channel. Both Noor and Carson utilized their years of St. Andrew's journals to write their reflections on growth, home, and the St. Andrew's family. 

During the ceremony, members of the Class of 2019 were also recognized with the following awards:

Christopher Wilson Award and Scholarship, given by his parents in memory of Christopher Edward Wilson '99. The award recognizes seniors who best embody Chris' virtues and personal qualities: a love of St. Andrew's, a quiet and authentic appreciation of life, friendship, and community; a devotion to service and to children; and a kind and generous spirit. Presented to Sam Zhang ’19.

The Cristin C. Duprey Diversity and Inclusivity Award, given in memory of Cristin C. Duprey '04, to the VI Former who has provided exceptional service in the cultivation of a diverse and inclusive St. Andrew's School community. Presented to Ann Yancey Bassett ’19, Austin Brannan ’19, Elise Hogan ’19, and Matt Yan ’19.

The Jonathan B. O'Brien Head of School Award celebrates the brilliant and courageous leadership and vision of St. Andrew's third Headmaster Jonathan O'Brien, who led the School from 1977 to 1997, and who passed away earlier this spring. The award recognizes seniors who contribute to the ethos of the School with integrity, generosity, humanity and love. Presented to Danny Lee ’19, Carson McCoy ’19, and Noor El-Baradie ’19.

The Fine Arts Award, given to the student who has made the greatest contribution in the fine arts and demonstrated a depth and quality of talent that demands our recognition. Presented to Mia Beams ’19 and Austin Brannan ’19.

The Henry Prize, awarded to the VI Form boys and girls who have been of the greatest service to athletics. It recognizes not only personal athletic skill, but also service to the teams of which the students were members. Presented to Mia Beams ’19, Will Cammerzell ’19, Noor El-Baradie ’19, and Tad Scheibe ’19. 

The King Prize, awarded to the leading scholar during the VI Form year. Presented to Enok Choe ’19.

The Founder's Medal, awarded to the scholar in the graduating class who, during his or her career at St. Andrew's, has achieved the best academic record in the Form. Presented to Enok Choe ’19.

The William H. Cameron Award, given to the VI Form boy and girl who have performed outstanding service to the School. Presented to Mia Beams ’18 and Augie Segger ’19.

St. Andrew's Cross, given in honor of the late Bishop Cook of Delaware, who was associated with the founding of the School, in recognition of the student whose contribution to the School has been distinguished for Christian qualities of concern for others, humility, and high principle. Presented to Nick Loh ’18

A full list of student awards granted at the close of the 2018-19 School year will be printed in the St. Andrew's Report on Philanthropy, which will be publish in the fall of this year. You can watch both Awards Night and Commencement in their entirety on St. Andrew's Livestream channel.

  • All School News
  • Homepage News
  • Student Life News